Jun 08, 2018

Release The Serpent Power

Add to Spiritual Diary

Awaken your cosmic energy through the practice of Shat Chakra Bhedana, says SATISH K KAPOOR

Shat chakra bhedana padyati is a method of piercing the chakras upwards to awaken the kundalini. It requires the observance of various disciplines and practices like celibacy, silence, asana, postural devices, pranayama, rhythmic breathing, bandha, body-locks, mudra, physico-mental postures, and chanting of mantras. By removing imbalances in chakras, one can revitalise them, linking body and mind to the cosmic forces, at a more refined wavelength.

Chakras are whirling energy fields in the astral body. They are not visible to the eyes, but can be perceived during deep meditation. As kundalini strikes each, one after another, on its ascending journey to the higher spiritual regions, they bloom like padma or lotus. The seven main chakras, muladhara, svadhishthana, manipura, anahata, vishuddha, ajna and sahasrara, are positioned respectively in the perineum, genitals, navel, heart, base of throat, centre of forehead, and crown of the head. The first five are stationed within sushumna nadi; the remaining two in the head.

Muladhara chakra has the power of the earth element, svadhishthana of the water element, manipura of the fire element, anahata of the air element and vishuddha of the space element.

They correspond respectively to five glands — gonad, adrenal, pancreas, thymus and thyroid. Ajna and sahasrara chakras, associated with pituitary and pineal glands, are like neuro-transmitters and neuromodulators that can bring about a physico- spiritual metamorphosis.

Kundalini is the primordial, invisible, formless, cosmic energy rolled up in three and a half coils, like the serpent in a slumberous state, near the lower end of the brahma nadi, a neural pathway in sushumna.

Sushumna is the major nerve current which originates at muladhara chakra — abode of Shakti — in the lowest part of meru, the vertebral column, and runs up the spine along with two other nadis — ida and pingala — to its left and right, terminating at sahasrara chakra in the middle of the cerebrum. While ida and pingala are symbolised respectively as the rivers Ganga and Yamuna, sushumna is typified as the river Saraswati. When the three nerve currents meet, the mind is uplifted to the space between the eyebrows, called Kedara, the abode of Shiva.

As breath is the source of life, kundalini is shaken from its state of hibernation, by uniting the two life-sustaining currents — the sun-breath (ha) which flows through the right nostril and the moon-breath (tha) which flows through the left nostril and making both of them pass through sushumna. When prana vayu, life-giving current in the heart, and apana vayu, downward breath in the region of the anus, coalesce, and one is able to stop the flow of breath by practising kumbhaka, the sleeping energy at the muladhara chakra, rises up, step by step, to sahasrara, the thousand petalled lotus. But this is not the end of the spiritual journey, as there are spiritual regions beyond.

The Hatha Yoga Pradipika explains the method thus: The sleeping sheserpent should be awakened by catching hold of her tail.... She should be caught and moved daily, morning and evening for one and a half hours by filling air through pingala by the Paridhana method. Sit in vajrasana and hold the feet firmly, just above the muladhara chakra, near the ankle joint, so that it is pressed. The practitioner should perform bhastrika — inhale and exhale air quickly, like a pair of bellows and contract the region of the navel to move the kundalini so that it leaves ‘the entrance of the sushumna at once and prana enters it of itself.’ When prana flows in the sushumna and the mind is in shunyavastha, devoid of thought, the effect of past karmas is dissolved (IV.12).

Raja yogis awaken the kundalini by moral restraints, will power, withdrawal of senses from their objects and concentration between two eyebrows; jnana yogis by deep study, and rational inquiry into metaphysical questions; karma yogis by the power of righteous acts; bhakti by faith, prayer, austerities, repetition of the holy name, devotional chanting and total surrender to god; and adherents of tantra by esoteric practices like use of bija mantras, seed syllables, mandalas, and panchamakaras.

The power of kundalini purifies and regenerates the body: it stimulates genitalia at the lowest two chakras, tones up the digestive system at manipura chakra, is prophylactic for the cardiovascular system at anahata chakra, cures thyroid and lung disorders at vishuddha chakra, develops concentration at ajna chakra,and regulates metabolism at sahasrara chakra.

Experiences during the awakening of the kundalini differ from person to person, due to variations in physical constitution, mental makeup, and impressions of past lives. One may lose physical consciousness, have a burning or cold sensation, feel a sort of tickling in the spine, develop an uncontrollable sexual urge, emit blue or white aura, perceive light, hear celestial sounds, become hypersensitive to smell, receive messages from the beyond, acquire siddhis, supernatural powers, conjure up memories of past lives, and so on. Since the kundalini in the human body is a manifestation of the maha kundalini in the cosmos, human consciousness can ascend to uncharted summits far beyond one’s cognitive ability.

Note: Consult an expert before practice to avoid any possible adverse results.

Comments Posted Via Facebook Comments Via Facebook
6 Comments Posted Via Speaking Tree Comments Via ST
Load More
Share with